CXA Universe
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Nervous about the interview

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Mjolnir

Mjolnir

Nervous about the interview Empty
PostSubject: Nervous about the interview   Nervous about the interview Icon_minitimeTue Mar 08, 2011 11:27 am

The truth is that I’m a little nervous about doing this interview. I’ve been a journalist for 8 years now and during that time I’ve been lucky enough to be sat in some rooms with some very important and powerful people. I’ve sat with business leaders and heads of state in my time, not to mention Hollywood a-listers. So really, I should be used to the pressure that comes with dealing with the difficult interview.

However, this guy isn’t really like interviewing any one of those categories I mentioned above - he’s more like a nightmarish amalgam of all three. I’ve interviewed him once before, but that was in a media scrum where I had four colleagues with me all shooting questions. This time its just me and him. I don’t have anyone to deflect questioning to, or to cover when my mind goes blank. I have to rely on my mouth not drying up when he locks those ice blue eyes on me and stares a hole in the back of my head.

Its Tuesday 8rd March and I’m at a surprisingly small boutique hotel in London’s Mayfair. I might have expected somewhere like the Dorchester or the Savoy, or even the newly opened W on Leicester Square. After all, the man can afford it. However, he’s also known for not being obvious, and the fact that I had never heard of this place before I came here today leads me to believe its the sort of place that doesn’t need to shout about either its prices, its luxury, or its clientele. Sure enough, as I walk through the front door and into a lobby which appears straight out of a stately home in the 19th century, I feel seriously underdressed in an off-the-peg suit.